PIDP 3260 Week 8 Blog

Featured image by John Powszedny 2011

creativecommonslogohttps://creativecommons.org/faq/

My Digital Project Link: 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bBx1fWA1YiQ

PIDP Course Summary for John Powszedny

 

PIDP is the Provincial Instructor’s Diploma Program in the Province of British Columbia. It is the provincial standard for adult educators. For more information:  http://www.vcc.ca/media/vancouver-community-college/content-assets/documents/programs/provincial-instructor-participant-handbook.pdf

As a new instructor, I want to become fully qualified by completing the program as quickly and effectively as possible. I don’t really like having to take all of these courses (it adds to the burden of life), but nothing worthwhile is easy. At present, I am completing my 6th of 8 required courses for the program. Below is a spreadsheet outlining my progress.

Summary of PIDP Courses Taken to Date

Date

Campus

Course

Instructor

Grade

Notes

8/22/2015 BCIT 3220 Loretta B+ Instructional Skills Workshop
2/2/2016 VCC Online 3100 Glenn B+ Foundations of Adult Education
2/2/2016 VCC Online 3250 Doug B Instructional Strategies
5/1/2016 BCIT 3210 Jaquie B+ Curriculum Development
6/1/2016 VCC Online 3230 Jeff A- Evaluation of Learning
8/1/2016 VCC Online 3260 Karen Ongoing Professional Practice

The most important things I have learned thus far by taking these courses are:

  • How to blog (PIDP 3100)
  • Curriculum development – balancing need, content, and delivery (PIDP 3210)
  • Public speaking and course delivery (PIDP 3220 – known as Instructional Skills Workshop at BCIT)
  • Formal and informal assessments (PIDP 3230)
  • Engagement of students (PIDP 3250)
  • Be myself, and be able to take criticism as a method to improve (PIDP 3260)

How my thinking has changed:

  • I am a softer, gentler instructor. My mantra used to be “If I can do it, anyone can do it.”  Not the best stance for an instructor. Now I am more patient with students, and I genuinely want them to succeed.
  • Unfortunately, my past method of handling criticism, by reflecting it, doesn’t work with sensitive students. So I have had to tone down my sarcasm a bit.
  • My initial feedback from student evaluations was more negative than positive. In fact it was very bad. My motto at the time was that I was only going to get better, because I can’t get any worse. I learned from the evaluations, and have cut down on in-class videos and instead focus on teaching and practicing.

What actions I will take based on what I have learned:

  • I plan on continuously giving out evaluation forms, and will make them available to all students for feedback. I will run it like a suggestion box.
  • I plan on preparing better for class
  • Fortunately, my days as a PIDP student will be OVER by the new year, which should leave me with some spare time to prepare better.
  • Soon, I will take PIDP 3240 “Media Enhanced Learning”, PIDP 3270 “Capstone Project”, and ta-da I will be done.  The light is finally showing at the end of the tunnel.
DSC00268photo by John Powszedny 2014
Leave a Reply

