PIDP 3260 Week 4 Blog

Well that was a short week.

Busy at work setting up VFDs for the 3rd year apprentices. Some of these folks were my first students. I had mixed reviews back then, everything from “he was rarely prepared” to “this guy might be a good instrument mechanic, but he shouldn’t be teaching”.

Well I am bucking the odds and am still teaching apprentices and technicians at BCIT.  My philosophy is that I started at the bottom and am working my way up. Taking these PIDP courses helped. Well they didn’t help my social life, but my teaching has improved.

My area of expertise is industrial instrumentation. It is a highly technical field, almost (but not quite) at the level of engineering. Basically, I am teaching my students how to work safely and effectively on process control equipment. I have years of experience doing this, but am only in the teaching business for the past year or so. In five years, who knows? Maybe I will still be teaching, maybe not. Could be on the other side of the world teaching this stuff. Saudi Arabia is constantly looking for someone with my qualifications to teach over there. Not sure if I would go, but am not ruling it out at this point. To be continued.

Speaking of working overseas, many of our student body are foreign students from overseas,  adding to our already diverse student body.

I don’t have the statistics, but it is clear to see that BCIT has racial and social diversity. Walking around campus, we see people of all colours, social backgrounds, and genders.

Brookfield narrows the focus of diversity into three ways:

  • The issue of race and racism, and how teachers can educate about racist behaviors
  • Focus on white students and white teachers. “Critical race theory is concerned chiefly with the way that enduring white racism is embedded in systems and structures of oppression”
  • Explore pedagogy and how teachers can use personal narratives in their teaching about racism.(Brookfield 2015 p. 111)

Well, like I mentioned earlier, racial diversity is all around us. There might be room for improvement in our inter-racial relations, but it doesn’t seem to be a major problem here in the lower mainland, or in other large Canadian cities.

In my diverse classroom, everyone is equal. We are all of the same race: the human race.

Reference:

Brookfield, S. D. (2015). The Skillful Teacher – On Techniques, Trust, and Responsiveness in the Classroom (3rd Ed.). San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

creativecommonslogo

https://creativecommons.org/faq/

Leave a Reply

