PIDP 3250 – Assignment 2: Week 7 Self-Assessment of Blog

John Powszedny 2016

Rubic Score for PIDP Blog Assignment

https://powszedny.wordpress.com/ Level 1 2 3 4 Score
Blog postings reflect breadth and depth x 8.5
Links to past students’ digital projects x 8.5
Contributions Weekly x 9.5
Social Media Links x 8.5
Organization x 8.5
Grammar and Spelling x 9.5
Creative Commons Indicated x 7.5
Total 0 1 4 2 86.4/100

average

 

Statistically Speaking

https://powszedny.wordpress.com/

 

# Pages on Blog # of Posts on Blog February 29- April 12 2016 # views of Blog February 29-April 12 2016 # Comments on Blog by Viewers
PIDP 3100 related N/A 9 N/A 0
PIDP 3250 related 1 7 N/A 2
Total 6 16 203 2
cropped-scenery-024.jpg
John Powszedny 2007

Reflective Question 1:

What did you learn about creating a blog?

I started my blog without a clue. Beginning with a free blog site from WordPress, I began my trip down the rabbit hole to blogtown. The first page was ugly. And not just a little ugly. The content was lame and the design was horrible. WordPress graphics are blocky and unless you buy a premium version, you might not get the design capability you are looking for. Next time, I will definitely upgrade to a premium site, or do a better job of shopping around.

My present blog is not too bad: I tweaked the settings and found a color combination that works. I have little control over the font, only the size is configurable. Inserting photos is easy, but you can’t just copy and paste. You have to use their picture insertion menu.

As for content, I have been publishing my assignments for the two courses I am taking concurrently (PIDP 3100 and 3250). I tried to make the content relevant and readable. I paid attention to grammar, punctuation and spelling.  There are many hyperlinks embedded in the text. Things that need improvement are creative writing skills and paring down the length of some posts (they are too wordy at times).

But overall, my blog is decent enough. I like it.

Reflective Question 2:

IMG_20140523_190920 (2)
John Powszedny 2014

Which classmates’ blogs did you like and why?

Suzanne Carlisle’s is colorful and informative. She has an advanced blog with lots of graphics, and obviously put a lot of time and effort into it.  That, or she is secretly a graphic artist.

I also like Melissa Ashman’s blog. Her opinions are well thought out and she is clearly organized. No wonder, she is also the Education Director at theCentre of Excellence in Cancer Prevention, and has prior professional blogging experience.

Reflective Question 3:

cropped-april-30-2012-import-photos-6481.jpg
John Powszedny 2012

What are the strengths and weaknesses in your blog?

I tried to make the content relevant and readable by paying attention to grammar, punctuation and spelling.  I have links to all of my classmates’ blogs (under a page called PIDP 3250 Community).  There are plenty of my own personal photos that are meant to help reinforce themes. I have paid attention to colors and layout, and although it still looks amateur, for a free blogsite I think mine looks not too bad.

Things that need improvement are creative writing skills and paring down the length of some posts (they are too wordy at times). The font on the blog is terrible. I would like to try a different premium version for a template next time, with more customizable features. Like the font. Ug. Lee.

Leave a Reply

